October Celebrations

Posted by SUSD Communications on 11/1/2023

National Principals Month

October is National Principals Month.  While we are appreciative year-round of the many ways in which our principals make Scottsdale Unified, our schools and our students better, we are pleased that an entire month is dedicated to celebrating them and their work.  

SUSD’s 30 principals are committed to their students and their success, and to their staff and parent communities.  They never lose sight that their leadership has a defining impact on their campuses’ climate and culture.  That is no easy task, to be sure, yet our principals adeptly juggle their many roles.

They’re there at zero hour in the morning; pop in on classes; greet, chat with and re-direct students; provide professional advice to teachers and staff; lean over to pick up a piece of trash and get it to an appropriate receptacle; and always – always – take great pride in their schools’ good standing in their community.  

Long after the stadium and stage lights have dimmed, they go home, answer e-mails, put their own children to bed or just kiss them on the head if they’ve already fallen asleep, rest their own heads for a few hours, then get up and do it all over again.  

SUSD would not be the excelling organization that it is without the frontline work done every day, day after day, by our building leaders.


Coronado HS Senior Nathan Higuera, head football coach Rick Benjamin, Scottsdale Fire Department paramedics 

Because of these men’s actions, Nathan's good health is in the process of being restored.  To Coach Benjamin and to our fire department’s paramedics team, thank you for being in the right place at the right time to save our student.  We are greatly indebted to you. 


National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

We are pleased to report that SUSD has 20 Semifinalists.  They are:

  • Lauren Matz from Arcadia High School
  • Douglas Driggs, Chloe Greetis, Tyler Higgins, Joseph Kahn, Tate Leventhal, Sania Patel, Darshan Shankar, Morgan Tefft and Elvia Uzdonas from Chaparral High School
  • Adelina Grotenhuis, Victoria Leung, David Ortloff and Leo Weber from Desert Mountain High School, and 
  • Mitchell Fesmire, Alyssa Perrine, Amutha Rajasundaram, Nikhil Sethi, Alex Stephenson and Jake Weiss from Saguaro High School